| be careful people [message #2721737] |
Sun, 12 August 2012 22:59  |
|
Just got a strange email
complete with ATO heading, professionally worded, a ato link etc. complete with copyright signatures all at the bottom - actually looks 'legit' and one I double took at!!
the link opens to a site that looks exactly the same as the ATO - the only difference the site address in the bar at the top of the screen and not all the links work (more an image base) and it asks for personal details
Be careful people - the scammers are getting worse
| Quote: |

Dear cowgirlboot@live.com.au ,
After the last annual calculations of your fiscal activity we have discovered that you are eligible to receive a tax refund of $210.75 AUD. Kindly complete the tax refund request and allow 6-9 working days to process it.
A refund can be delayed for a variety of reasons. For example submitting invalid records or applying after the deadline.
To access the form for your tax refund, please visit:
www.ato.gov.au/taxpayers/refundation.html_verify?puser=cowgirlboot@live.com.au
Important note about your online refund:
For security reasons, we will record your ip-address, the date and time. Deliberate wrong inputs are criminally pursued and persecuted.
Secure Socket Layer (SSL) Encryption
Extended Validation Secure Socket Layer, or EVSSL for short, means that our site has undergone many rigorous checks to confirm its validity, and has been provided with a 'certificate of authenticity' which can be recognised by your browser.
Sincerely,
Australian Taxation Office (ATO)
© Copyright 2012 © Australian Taxation Office. All rights reserved.
|
I have reported it, but thought I best put up a warning in case someone else recieves it and goes to fall for it!!
|
|
|
|
|
|
|